Could it be Lyme Disease?

As many of you know, our son has battled illness and some shocking symptoms for the last couple of years.  At first they were certain that he had MS.  Tests showed negative and none of the many doctors he saw had any answers.  He spent time researching his symptoms and also had people suggest to him that he might have Lyme Disease.  After finally getting in to see one of the very few doctors in Perth who treat Lyme patients, he received a clinical diagnosis.  This was then confirmed (after a negative result from testing in Australia) by sending blood overseas to Germany.  He has started treatment and is improving.  He still has his ups and downs but is soldiering on (the side effects of treatment can be horrendous).  He has his own blog and if you are interested, you can find it here.

Lyme disease is usually caused by a tick bite carrying bacteria/s.  More information is available here.

Can you believe my astonishment when at my last appointment, my Pdoc said he wanted to test me for Lyme Disease?  I told him that our son had been diagnosed earlier this year.  I was gobsmacked!

I had a simple blood test done and the result has come back negative.  Apparently this is not surprising as the testing in Australia is very inadequate.

So, I have an appointment at the end of the month to see an LLMD (Lyme Literate Medical Doctor).  I am quite anxious about this as I know that you can get way worse before you get better.  On the other hand, it may explain a lot.  My symptoms did initially start after a family holiday in the USA.  My Doctor also initially thought I had MS also.  Who knows?

So for now I am just waiting.  I will see what this new Doctor has to say and take it from there.

av17

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie Snow
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 20:15:48

    Hi Terri,
    You are an amazing lady! Reading your blog has given me a better understanding on how you have been and still are suffering. Never think you are disappointing us, we are all feeling your pain and just want to help you but are feeling helpless in the process. You have an amazing family also and I thank God that they are there for you and you are there for them. I hope the doctors do find the real reason for your poor health soon so that you can get the right treatment and be taking more steps forward and less backwards. Keep your positive attitude as it will see you through. Reading your blog you have had so many struggles and you are still seeing there is a light at the end of the tunnel you are a true inspiration to us other mere mortals who get a cold and think we are dying, you have plenty to complain about but you aren’t, you are remaining positive even though it is a struggle. Please keep us up todate with any news you want to share. Look after your ray of “Sunshine”, she is gorgeous and gives you a joyous side to life. Travelling your journey with you.Val

    Reply

    • Terri Ford
      Jul 20, 2013 @ 18:40:07

      Thanks Val for taking the time to read my ramblings 🙂 Your support and encouragement over the last few months have been gratefully appreciated. xx

      Reply

  2. Trackback: 10 Things You Should Know About Lyme Disease | Healthy Concepts with a Nutrition Bias
  3. Bree
    Jul 20, 2013 @ 16:01:26

    Terri, thank you so much for allowing me to read your battle for good health and also your sons. At the news of Sunshine coming in toyour life and your families, I am sure you will have more days filled with sunshine than rain.

    Reply

    • Terri Ford
      Jul 20, 2013 @ 18:37:26

      Thanks Bree for all your hard work regards Lyme Disease. We will get awareness and better testing etc in Australia! And I am grateful that you have taken the time to read my blog. It is definitely proving therapeutic for me. xx

      Reply

  4. Debra Doss
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 22:29:37

    Thanks so much for writing about this disease. I just found this site and I am excited to obtain any info. I can. I only hope my family will read this also because I thought I had fibro and chronic fatigue but it is really Lyme. I have had this since 2000.

    Reply

    • Terri Ford
      Aug 20, 2013 @ 10:21:34

      Hi Debra. I am sorry that you have LD and for such a long time. I am currently waiting on blood tests results from Germany. A very anxious time. Terri

      Reply

Leave a Reply

