Let’s Get Up To Date

 

Well I suppose the best place to start is with my current diagnosis:

Major Agitated Depression

Generalised Anxiety Disorder (bordering on Agoraphobia)

Hashimoto’s Thyroid Disease

Meningioma (benign brain tumour)

 

My worst symptom at the moment is that I am always feeling off-balance, dizzy, have leg muscle weakness and I constantly have jerking (mostly affecting my head and shoulders).   My speech is also affected and I stutter a lot and sometimes I simply cannot think of the word I want to say.  This restricts me so much as I cant get up and walk around doing things without feeling like I am going to fall over.  I have to concentrate so hard to walk and talk.

Like I said in a previous post, I am receiving excellent medical care.  I cannot thank my Psychiatrist enough for his patience and absolute professionalism, leaving no stone unturned.  The back-up support offered by my long standing GP is one of friendship, support and encouragement thrown in with the occasional dose of reassurance (when I see him on a bad day).  My new community nurse is absolutely wonderful.  He is challenging me (supporting me in the process) and is just one of those people that would be very hard not to like (even though he is a Dockers supporter!).

There are a couple of obstacles that I need to overcome, I believe, until I can really see myself making leaps and bounds on that good old road to recovery.  Please keep in mind that Agitated Depression and GAD are very difficult to treat.  I am therefore on quite a bit of medication that make me ‘zonked’, especially of a night time.

Which leads to my first obstacle. Regaining my balance and stopping the jerking.  I am sure that if I can overcome this, I would be dealing so much better with life.  My Pdoc is of the opinion that this is caused by a bad reaction to my anti-depressant and we are working slowly to reduce my dose.  I really hope this works.  But this will take time.

The next obstacle is that I am sleeping until about 10 am every morning.  Sometimes I wake a little earlier, but no matter what time I take my night meds or get to sleep, I don’t seem to wake any earlier.  It then takes an hour or two until I feel ‘awake’.  I have tried setting my alarm to wake earlier, but I either sleep through it or turn it off and go back to sleep. I also have days where I feel thoroughly exhausted.  Very frustrating!

On top of everything else I have the depression and anxiety, but these are improving over time and my moods seem to be more stable lately.  I usually get very down on the days that my jerking is very bad.  These are the days that I spiral downwards into my own private pity party.

I do have good days also 🙂  Today started off poorly, but I pushed through and managed to do housework and ironing.  I know that doesn’t sound like a big achievement to many, but to me it is wonderful!  I also managed to go shopping with hubby this week and went off on my own into a couple of shops.  I love these days!

So, if I have been a distant friend of late, please understand that the nature of this beast leaves me withdrawn.  Most days are an effort to get up and about and do a few little jobs to help out around the house.  But this will all change when I am well again. I promise!

 

av18

 

 

Leave a Reply

