Herxing

**The Herxheimer reaction(also known as Jarisch-Herxheimer or Herx) occurs when large quantities of toxins are released into the body as bacteria (typically Spirochetal bacteria) die during antibiotic treatment.  Typically the death of these bacteria and the associated release of endotoxins occurs faster than the body can remove the toxins via the natural detoxification process. It is manifested by fever, chills, headache, muscle pain and exacerbation of existing symptoms.** 

So I have come to hate herxes!  Taking antibiotics to kill the bugs and then they release toxins which amplify your symptoms until your body can clear these toxins.  That’s why constant detoxing is so important….

I had the worst herx two weeks ago following my first seven weeks on anti-biotic treatment.  As my main symptoms are anxiety, depression, fatigue and dystonia (muscle jerking), I was absolutely floored with overwhelming depression (to the point of suicidal feelings), chronic fatigue and muscle jerking ( hubby had to hold me down as my movements were almost seizure like).

I had 9 days of hell before I had my appointment to see my Lyme Doctor.  He told me to stop the Penicillin immediately and that I was very unlucky as he had only ever had a handful of patients that had had similar reactions and they all had neuro lyme.  Fortunately, the herx passed within a couple of days and I was just left feeling exhausted both mentally and physically.

He has started me on a different antibiotic which he is introducing much slower and it will take me months to reach the full dosage.  The herxes from now on should be milder and easier to get through.

I have since had some pretty good days.  Yesterday, I felt almost normal!  I was able to walk steadily and do my chores.  Hubby agreed to come with me to do some shopping.  I drove as we are trying to get my confidence back, so I can drive alone without the crippling anxiety.  After the shopping, we went to visit a friend in hospital (hubby drove).  All in all, a good day.

The good news is that Matt has finished stage one of his treatment after almost a year.  He now moves on to stronger antibiotics to kill off the actual lyme bugs.  Stage one is to attack and kill off the many co-infections that we have tested positive for that accompany lyme bugs.  They are really just different bacteria.  Anyhow, the finishing post is looking closer for Matt which has delighted us all.  He is worried about the herxing these new meds may bring out, but he is strong and positive and I know he can do it 🙂

Me…. I am just taking it a day at a time.  On my good days I rejoice and on my bad days, I try to remind myself of my good days.

For you Matt.... You are a strong Leo and will beat this! xxx

For you Matt….
You are a strong Leo and will beat this! xxx

 

Leave a Reply

